Let’s chat

When I was growing up my parents encouraged my brother and I to be creative, to speak our minds and to, above all else, be honest. Of course as a child being honest meant telling everyone and anyone you met that you hated the colour pink or that broccoli tasted like feet. Being creative meant drawing on the walls with crayons and speaking your mind meant saying your best friend’s house smelt like old people. As an adult though, those things took on a whole other meaning.

Honesty as an adult can, at times, blur the lines between being unabashedly truthful and being a little bit elusive. It means sometimes not saying that you think your friend’s child is a massive pain in the arse, that their new hair colour makes them look like a vampire or that their roast beef tastes remarkably like charcoal; but instead saying their child is ‘energetic’, that their new hair colour is ‘unique’ and their beef is ‘different’. Honesty can mean choosing your words carefully to navigate the minefield that is human emotion, much like speaking your mind isn’t just running your mouth.

It’s remarkably easy to just blurt out whatever comes into your head before really thinking about what is actually being said; I’ve been known to do just that on more than one occassion. Like the time I told one of my very best friends that I didn’t want to drive an hour to her house with my then 4 week old until he had had his vaccine for whooping cough. Of course she, rightfully so, thought that I was saying her house and her son presented a potential risk for my newborn to get whooping cough despite both being vaccinated and her house being as clean as an operating theatre (good job brain!). Speaking your mind as an adult is about more than just running your mouth. It’s about being diplomatic with how you present your opinions and ensuring you don’t come across sounding like a total jackass. Something that can prove a bit difficult if you’re toeing that creative line.

I’m a fiction writer and I have this inherent need to speak far more than is necessary. There have been times where that creative side of my brain makes the answer to a simple question a three page epic saga that makes sense only to me. It means I have a bad habit of overthinkking simple answers that others give in response to my lengthy questions. Creativity as an adult goes from drawing on the walls to painting on a canvas, from playing ‘make believe’ in the garden to writing about and inventing new and fantastic worlds on paper. The thing is, it’s not the meanings that change in any of these circumstances; it’s us.

The basic meaning of those three things stays exactly the same, it’s just that we change our perceptions as we get older. A large part of that change comes from the experiences we have throughout our lives. These experiences impact not only on how we act and react to certain things but they alter the way in which we think about our lives as a whole. Experiences change us in the best possible way; they inspire us, they test us and above all else, they teach us.

That’s where This Little Vibe was born and where it will grow. I intend on using that creativty and that honesty to speak my mind in a way that I hope will help, inspire and encourage others to do the same. With product reviews, guest writers, shared experiences and general ramblings it is my hope that this blog sees you smiling, laughing, agreeing and even disagreeing with the vibes I’m putting out into the cyberverse. There’s so much negativity and fear in the world that it’s high time we start boosting the positivity and the creativity.

With that I will say thanks, and leave you with this little vibe:

A person who has good thoughts cannot ever be ugly. You can have a wonky nose and a crooked mouth and a double chin and stick-out teeth, but if you have good thoughts they will shine out of your face like sunbeams and you will always look lovely.  – Roald Dahl The Twits’.

E

Leave a Reply

